Winner of the East Anglian Book Award for Poetry

Posted on 7 November 2016

At a classy awards ceremony on Thursday night, I was thrilled when it was announced that The Print Museum had won the 2016 East Anglian Book Award for Poetry.

The cover design, based on an idea by my editor Neil Astley at Bloodaxe, and beautifully designed by Shona Branigan, won the East Anglian Writers 'Book by the cover' Award too.

Especially in a region so rich with fantastic writers, and many excellent books out this year, it was wonderful to have both the design and the words honoured.  

East Anglian Book Award for Poetry 2016

East Anglian Book Award for Poetry 2016

The overall winner, for East Anglian Book of the Year, went to 'The Crime Writer' by Jill Dawson.

The winners of each category were:

Biography & Memoir 

Jumpin’ Jack Flash by Keiron Pim (Jonathan Cape)

History & Tradition

Heyday: Britain and the Birth of the Modern World by Ben Wilson (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)


The Print Museum by Heidi Williamson (Bloodaxe)


The Crime Writer by Jill Dawson (Hodder & Stoughton)

General Non-Fiction

Lost Country Houses of Norfolk: History, Archaeology and Myth by Tom Williamson, Ivan Ringwood and Sarah Spooner (Boydell & Brewer)

The Mal Peet Children’s Book Award

Longbow Girl by Linda Davies (Chicken House)

 You can find out more (and see me in one of my favourite dresses) here